Dream Dancers

space-dance1Another one Mike cleverly turned into a whimsically innocent & simple (if a little cheesy :D) song. Originally, I’d been playing with the idea of astral travel & wanted to write a response to Queen’s ‘Dreamers Ball‘, & this emerged. I had to add a bit of repetition, which while it made it work as a song, I think spoilt it as a poem a little, this is the poem version reconstructed as best I remember it.

Dream Dancers

Go to sleep and I’ll call on you,
Take you wherever you want to go.
We’re going dream dancing.
See the world through your minds eye,
Looking down from beyond the sky,
We’re going sleep romancing.

To the stars, or across the sea,
Doesn’t matter, if you’re with me,
When we go dream dancing.
Through the power of unconscious minds,
We’ll be together ‘cross distance and time,
When we go sleep romancing.

Want to seduce you through your dreams,
Take you places you’ve never seen,
I’m taking you dancing.
You’re still his in your waking hours,
In your sleep with magic-like power,
I’m taking you sleep romancing.

Go to sleep and I’ll call on you,
Take you wherever you want to go.
See the world through your minds eye,
Looking down from beyond the sky,
We’re going dream dancing,
We’re going sleep romancing…

17th July 1998

(I recently found out the Cole Porter wrote a song called ‘Dream Dancing‘ & Ella Fitzgerald has an album of the same name (which it appears on), but this has nothing to do with either, I guess it has a very similar theme though.)

Leave a Reply

