Sentinel

Sentinel.Untitled

I don’t know if there’s a God in heaven,
And if there is, I’m not sure I believe.
But there’s one thing I know without a doubt,
That I’ve been granted my share of reprieves.
Something has saved me from myself,
More times than I care to recall.
A guiding hand, that gently nudged,
That catches me when I fall.

An omnipresent constant angel,
A constant watching sentinel.

I’ve made mistakes in my life, like everyone else,
But the damage has been always contained.
By a constant presence in my life,
And my dignity has always remained.
I don’t know how to thank you,
Or even if you want or need anything from me.
But I know, when I’m low, you’ll always be there,
And I thank you for steering me free.

My omnipotent guardian angel,
My constant eternal sentinel.

9th November 1998

Leave a Reply

