The Path of Least Resistance

Stairs-Going-Down-1680x1050-wide-wallpapers.net.jpg

400 odd years ago, some old bard from the midlands (his name escapes me for a moment 😉 ) wrote summat about “to thine own self be true” in a play about Scandinavian princeling.

This is about when you don’t….(let that be a lesson to you 😛 )

The Path of least Resistance.

I’ll take the path of least resistance every time.
Won’t stand up for my beliefs – that’s my crime.

It’s easier to bend than break,
Has been the watchword that’s served me long.
But I’ve bent so far I’m out of shape,
No longer proud of what I’ve become.

I’ll take the path of least resistance every time.
Won’t stand up for my feelings – that’s my crime.

Contorted by the trials of life,
I’ve been too scared to take the risk.
But the throb in my soul is unbearable now,
Because I slipped my last moral disc.

And the path of least resistance is trodden well,
It’s paved with good intentions but leads to hell

3rd Aug 1998

 

Leave a Reply

