Stood the test of Time

antique-clock-wallpaper-mobile-whj.jpgAt the risk of getting a bit sentimental & cheesy…! (OK, so there’s nothing wrong with a bit of sentiment & cheese, really, but shhh, we’ll keep it our secret, OK?)

This was one that Mike started. Certainly most of the first verse & at least half the chorus, although I can’t be exact – he already had a nice, acoustic folky melody for it, but had got stuck lyrically & wanted to write something for his wife for their anniversary. So who wouldAll I did was play with the weather theme really.

Stood the Test of Time.

Have you seen the sun?
Shining in the sky,
Have you ever wondered?
Asked the reason why?
Have you seen the rain?
Beating on the glass,
Unlike the way I feel for you,
I know it’s sure to pass.

No matter what’s outside,
Rain or wind or shine,
I know you’re always there,
We’ve stood the test of time.

Have you seen the snow?
Glistening on the ground.
Lasts for such a short time,
Melts without a sound.
But all I have to do,
When we’re far apart,
Remember the way you love me so,
And you still melt my heart.

Have you seen the mist?
Hiding in the trees,
Haunting forest spirit,
Carried by the breeze.
And when I lay me down,
I can see your eyes,
Pierce me like a ghostly spear,
And all my worries die.

No matter what’s outside,
Rain or wind or shine,
I know you’re always there,
We’ve stood the test of time.

Have you heard the wind?
Whipping up the sea,
Howling round the crows’ nest,
Tearing canvas free,
If you should ever leave me,
Forget to call or never ‘phone,
‘Cause the thought of loosing you,
Chills me to the bone.

April 2000

 

Leave a Reply

