Masks and Veils

TATTOO3This again, started off as a poem, but with a bit of tweaking to make the scanning tighter and (the addition of a chorus, which I’ve omitted here), Mike turned it into a song.

Masks and Veils.

If I look closely I can see the scars,
From the times you’ve tried and failed to reach your star.
You lock it behind the mask that you wear,
But I can see through it – the mask that we share.
Hidden behind all your laughter and smiles,
I can hear the crying brought on by your trials.
You’re trying to smother it behind a facade,
But you can’t keep it hidden ’cause you’re trying to hard.

I can feel the hurting you’ve hidden away,
Think if you ignore it, it might go astray.
You lock it behind the mask that you wear,
It may be well hidden, but we know it’s still there.
There’s a hunger that’s eating at you from inside,
And you’re fast running out of places to hide.
You try to shield behind a veil of mystique,
But it’s sapping your strength and making you weak.

You and me both, we’re just one and the same,
Laugh off the suffering to hide all the shame.
You’re turning your back on a need to be loved,
Tender hands hold it in an iron glove.
Not prepared to open up and trust,
Push me away, what we could have, turned to dust.
And we lock it away behind the mask that we wear,
And deep down you know it’s a mask that we share.

If I look closely I can see the scars,
From the times you’ve tried and failed to reach your star.
You’re trying to smother it behind a facade,
But you can’t keep it hidden ’cause you’re trying to hard.
You’re turning your back on a need to be loved,
Tender hands hold it in an iron glove.
And we lock it away behind the mask that we wear,
And deep down you know it’s a mask that we share.

26th June 1999

2 thoughts on “Masks and Veils

    • Yeah, I think I fell into the trap of being a bit of a “rescuer” in the past, & I think this is about that, probably. Trying to not be these days, I guess. Understand my own & other peoples boundaries better, & generally be more of a grown up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

