Nine dreams from ’99 and Girl in the Clouds

2001-11-10 15.19.22I did for a short while, keep a dream diary, but to be honest, like a regular diary, I was a bit rubbish at keeping it. I thought it might be interesting to turn the ones I did remember into a poem. It was surprisingly hard to summarise a whole dream down to four lines:

Nine Dreams from ’99

January:
Floating in a blackened void,
Bathed in violet laser lights.
Basking in tranquillity,
Revel in calm delights.

March:
Civil war scholar,
With old friends from my past.
Prepare to pit our intellects,
‘Gainst the Roundhead foe at last.

Twentieth century jester,
Hell raising in New York.
Leave a path of chaos,
The nature of my work.

Lilac chiffon scarf,
Brushed gently on my naked skin.
Feel the tender glowing,
Igniting from within.

April:
New born baby smiling,
Sleeping on my chest.
Protect her tender helplessness,
And nurture innocence.

Making love al fresco,
On a paradise ocean side.
Feeling passion rising,
And ebbing with the tide.

May:
Science fiction warrior,
Wielding laser sword.
Smiting evil villains,
To wipe out their discord.

August:
Vocal duel’s with Freddie,
On a floodlit outdoor set.
Hear harmonies blending with,
Euphoric crowd I won’t forget.

Iridescent butterfly,
Rising from the flames.
Morph into a Phoenix,
Eradicate the pain.

22nd/24th August 1999


de25_005This was from another dream, later that the ’99 ones. Peculiar in as much it was completely silent.

Girl in the Clouds.

Pink Clouds billowed silently,
And I saw her face appear.
A Girl from the past, or somewhere else,
Features far from clear.
But she gazed on down at me,
‘Though I couldn’t see her eyes.
But I could feel the love she felt for me,
Are you my Angel or my guide?
And I knew that she was smiling,
‘Though her mouth also obscured.
But she watched, and smiled, and loved me,
And waited ‘til I woke.

11th June 2000

Leave a Reply

