Walking your Road (To be You).

maxresdefault (1).jpgWell here we are, post number one in my brand new blog! As I said in the intro, I’ll probably start by just posting some of the older stuff I’ve written and hopefully that will help some of the new stuff that’s try to come out, come out.

So let’s start with an old poem that became a song when a friend of mine who now lives on the Isle of Wight put it to music. This one came about playing with the old native american idea about not really knowing someone until you’d walked a mile in their moccasins:

Walking your Road. (To be You).

Let me put on your walking shoes,
And pace your road a while,
I want to know just how it feels, to be you.
Let me take off these ragged clothes,
And put on your smile,
To know what it’s like, to do what you do,
To know what it’s like, to be you.

Want to know just what it is,
To see with your eyes,
To let me look upon the world, from your point of view,
Want to know just how it feels,
To touch with your hands,
‘Cause I know that your, your touch is true.
To know what it’s like, to be you.

Want to feel just what it’s like,
To hear with your ears,
‘Cause you can hear, clearer than I.
Like to know just how it feels,
To talk with your voice,
‘Cause you don’t know, how to tell lies.
To know what it’s like, to be you.

Let me know just what it’s like.
To taste with your tongue,
Knowing that, you’re far more, tasteful than me.
Want to know just how it feels,
To trust with your soul,
‘Cause you know how to trust, instinctively.
To know what it’s like, to be you.

Want to know just what it’s like,
To love with your heart,
Because your heart is, purer than mine.
Want to see just how it feels,
To kiss with your lips,
Just for a moment, from time-to-time.
To know what it’s like, to be you.
…To be you.

15th November 1999

Leave a Reply

